Cub Scouts is available to boys in first through 5th grades.  Boys can join their grade level anytime.

  • Tigers (First Graders)
  • Wolfs (Second Graders)
  • Bears (Third Graders)
  • Webelos (4th Graders)
  • Webelos Arrow of Light (5th Graders)


What Is Cub Scouting?

If you are a boy in first grade through fifth grade—or you’re 7 to 10 years old—then Cub Scouting is for you. It’s for your family, too. This is the first and the biggest of the three Scouting programs (Cub Scouting, Boy Scouting, and Venturing) from the Boy Scouts of America.


Cub Scouts Belong to Pack and Den

Every Cub Scout is a member of a Cub Scout pack. A pack is a large group of boys.  The pack is divided into smaller groups called dens. Each den has about six to eight boys. All of the Cub Scouts in a den are about the same age.


Cub Scouts Do Things and Go Places

Cub Scouting means “doing.” You have lots to do as a Cub Scout—crafts, games, sports, songs, stories, and puzzles, to name a few things. Much of the fun happens right in the den and pack. The den usually 2-3 times per month, and the pack meets once a month, normally third Monday of the month, except for summer break.  Cub Scouts also go to events like the annual Blue and Gold Banquet, field contests, and derbies such as the Pinewood Derby. They go on field trips. They go camping and have other kinds of outdoor adventures. They take part in community events. Cub Scouts do all sorts of exciting stuff!


Cub Scouts Earn Awards

While you’re having fun, you’ll also be earning badges and awards. You’ll work on projects with your parents or other adults in your family, and all of you will feel good about the things you accomplish. When you have earned a badge, you and an adult member of your family take part in a ceremony. The badge is given to the adult, and he or she then gives it to you in front of the whole pack. This is a way of saying “thank you” to your family for their help in earning your award.

The most popular awards for Cub Scouts are the advancement awards. Boys do requirements to advance and earn their badges of rank: Tiger Cub, Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, and the Arrow of Light Award.

The Cub Scout Academics and Sports program is popular, too. Cub Scouts get to learn about favorite subjects such as art, math, science, and citizenship. Or they play individual and team sports such as archery, gymnastics, skating, or soccer. You don’t need to be a star athlete to play Cub Scout Sports. You’re a winner when you do your best.


Cub Scouting Has a Purpose

There is a reason for everything boys do in Cub Scouting. Apart from the fun and excitement, the aim of Cub Scouting is to help boys grow into good citizens who are strong in character and personally fit. This is why we say that Cub Scouting is fun with a purpose.


Scout Participation: Scouts are expected to:

  • Participate in pack and den activities
  • Be honest and always tell the truth
  • Use good manners
  • Be positive
  • Be kind and considerate to others
  • Take care of the environment
  • Listen when others are talking
  • Wait their turn
  • Keep their turn
  • Always offer to help, particularly with clean up
  • Be a team member
  • Do their best and be a scout wherever they are.